Gluten Free News
Leave a Comment

Gluten’s Secret Pseudonyms

Going gluten free isn’t as tricky as you might think, but there are more than a few obstacles thrown in the way of anyone attempting a gluten free diet. One thing to watch out for is gluten’s secrecy. This troublesome thing comes in many forms, and adopts many a different name, for reasons best known only to itself.


Here are the top names to look out for if you’re avoiding gluten:

  • Vitamin E (this can be derived from wheat germ, even in beauty products!)
  • Modified food starch (this is usually corn or soy, and is gluten free. If it contains wheat, it must say “wheat” on the label)
  • Tocopheryls (another name for Vitamin E)
  • Natural Flavours (sometimes made from barley, especially in caramel, but if so “barley” will need to be declared on the label)
  • Hydrolized Vegetable Protein (in many vegetarian meat replacements and shampoo)

Of course gluten isn’t just wheat, though. Here are the grains you need to avoid:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Bran
  • Flour
  • Graham flour
  • Farina
  • Durum
  • Semolina

Have you been caught out by any secretive gluten-containing products?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s